Sunday, June 30, 2013

468 before tip-out
393 after

well, for starters, there was a "vampire party" at the club tonight. the highlight of which, judging from all of the conversation in the dressing room at the end of the night, was the "samples," i.e., "free food." one of the dancers compared the experience to sam's club. apparently the dj is a huge vampire nerd (with his own tv show?!?), and spent much of the early night melting white chocolate and red food coloring for the "blood" chocolate fountain while k- subbed for him. i want to poke a little fun at this, but also, honestly, it is hard to melt white chocolate without fucking up the consistency. it was a little silly, though. later, k- made me stand holding a strawberry under the fountain for a while whilst he took a picture that he lit with the flashlight on his iphone. all this to say that, while a portion of vampire con may have temporarily descended on the club, they were not all actually that interested in doing what one DOES in a strip club...i.e., buy dances. i'm a little fascinated by the scene though...the party was emceed buy the guy who runs the ghost and vampire tours in new orleans. apparently, they have their own house and there are different levels of initiation. other elements of the party (as it were) included a second dj, who as i perceived it, only played two songs. this was probably a let down for him, as he had an ENTIRE SECOND dj station set up, but really, that makes no sense. the music in there is uncomfortably loud as it is, how were you supposed to have two dj's at once? also, i felt bad for the one dancer who had chosen a reggaeton set and then had to end up dancing to some sped-up house music with lyrics about cannibalism. in addition, that dude who seems to have established himself as the bondage expert in new orleans was there tying people up. i think the last time i saw him was at "kiss kiss julie."

m-- and j-- gave another brutal bachelor beating...and the dj said more fucked up racist shit. m-- and j--, both perceptively white, were flogging the bachelor, also perceptively white. very intensely. and the dj goes, "your names is toby." WTF?!?

one of the other dancers passed out or od'd or something. but she was at least on her feet -- sort of -- by the end of the night.

i don't know what else to say. i was a little bored. my legs hurt a lot. i forgot how exhausting this is. the stage was fine. it felt awkward getting back into it. and i'm still not so great at it. but maybe i'm getting better at not caring.

it was a lot harder to go in today, and more stressful because i really didn't see anyone today. a- and r- picked me up from the airport, which was so sweet and wonderful and we had a great dinner and a- even took me to get groceries after that, but none of my housemates are home and i was super lonely last night. and then today i went out into the world and i didn't really see anyone i knew, and ijust wante to have some good affirming experiences of myself before work, so it was hard to be much more alone than i usually am. i made a mess in the house though.

No comments:

Post a Comment